Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

On February 11th we had an inexplicable (to us, anyway) holiday right in the middle of the week, so we decided to go snowboarding. As many people in Gunma were going that weekend to a Minakami Snowboard event, it was just Kenji and I so we decided to stay close in Gunma and go to Ca et la, then hit the Fukiware Falls (The “Niagara Falls of Japan”) afterward.


No snow!

The drive up was uneventful, if traffic-y. We got to Ca et la a little late, but parked and headed on up. Unfortunately, conditions weren’t that great…


The drive up: duck!


Ca et la Resort… niiiiiiice


Sad face 😦

There hadn’t been much snow lately, so there wasn’t much of a cover. What snow there was was icy in that crappy end-of-the-season kinda way. A lot of the runs were closed due to lack of snow as well. It wasn’t very fun at first, and worse, because it was a holiday, there were a TON of people there. Closed runs + tons of people meant super crowded conditions, which always makes me super nervous.


Gambare!


Where’d the snow go? It’s February!

We finally headed to the veeerrryyy top of the mountain and found a run we both could enjoy, so we did that one a few times before lunch. Unfortunately, it was around this time that I took a really bad spill and bruised my back pretty badly. It was scary, but it turned out to be okay after awhile. We still went up a few times after that.

Lunch was the normal curry, and then we headed out for a few more runs before leaving early, around 3pm. It turned out to be a productive day for Kenji as he learned this turny-thingy on the snowboard. He had me take a few videos so he could see what he looked like!


Lunch


The day got nice, even if the snow wasn’t good!


“How do I look?”


Kenji Car Penguin on the way home

After snowboarding, we changed out of our clothes and headed to Fukiware Falls. There was a sign and chains barring entry because of snow and ice, but we saw a few people hop over them so we quickly followed suit (shhhh). There was a bit of snow and ice on the steps down and the paths, but enough had melted that we were able to get down.


The path


The view from the bottom

Although there wasn’t as much water as normal because it was frozen upstream, it was still really pretty! The formation is really neat, I’d love to go in a prettier season like spring or fall! (Or even summer, lol) I snapped lots of pictures, so I’ll just post a few of my favorites!


In the middle is my absolute favorite picture of the bunch… it is so neat looking in my opinion… GO INTO THE LIGHT, KENJI! XD;


Leading up to it…

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Looking upstream…

Photobucket Photobucket
…and down.


No one there to take our picture, good thing Kenji has long arms!

Anyway, I think I got a little excessive at the picture taking, but I really liked the falls. I wish we could have stayed longer, but we needed to leave to beat traffic. After getting home and stowing the snowboards away, we headed out to our favorite onsen for a nice long soak, then it was resting for back to school the next day.

That coming weekend we decided not to go boarding again, partly because conditions still weren’t great (Ken and Shauna went and they said it was pretty terrible) and partly to unwind from the week and get errands done!

The 14th, that Saturday, was also Valentine’s Day! In Japan, tradition is that girls give chocolate to boys (homemade or store bought depending), and boys reciprocate on White Day in March. So the night before, I went with Meg to a cooking class to make V-day goodies, so I had that and also bought Kenji’s favorite Ice Wine and some champagne, as well as made dinner.

We went to Takasaki for some shopping, so dinner etc. was really late, but overall it was a nice weekend and I think I did a pretty good job on the cooking! Kenji has the pictures of that, so as soon as I get those I’ll edit them in!

