Tags

, , , , , , ,

Whew, been awhile hasn’t it? Sorry for the long wait for a new post. I’ve been busy in that everyday life sort of way, just having trouble making time more than anything. Hopefully I can catch up fully this week!

When we got back from Okinawa on Thursday, Kenji had received a few calls from his grandparents and cousin in Kanagawa prefecture. His cousin’s grandmother had died, and the family wanted him to go to the funeral to represent the family and his parents back in the US. The general attitude between us was “well, if you’re going, we might as well make a nice trip out of it”! So despite just getting back Thursday, we headed out again on Saturday for Kanagawa. We decided to go see Hakone as well.

We had Thursday to unpack, then Friday we both had school, so we decided we’d drive early Saturday morning, and Kenji would drop me off at the nearest train station so I could spend the day in Tokyo. We’d start the drive to Hakone that night, stay somewhere, enjoy Sunday, then drive home.

The drive was pretty uneventful, except that because of Tokyo traffic we were running late. Kenji dropped me off at the train station and headed strait to the funeral, while I took the train to Shinjuku.

Photobucket
Mmm, curry in Shinjuku!

Photobucket
A view of Shinjuku

Photobucket Photobucket
The view from Tokyu Hands

Photobucket
Back in Kanagawa by the afternoon

I ate lunch in Shinjuku and just stayed in that area. I did a little shopping, but my main goal was Tokyu Hands, a craft store that I hoped would have stuff to make a necklace out of the conch shell charm Kenji had gotten me in Okinawa. I was lucky, and was able to find and make my necklace!

At around 3pm I headed back to Kanagawa to meet Kenji, and from there we started driving to Hakone to find a cheap hotel for the night.

Photobucket
A bunch of penguins that look like Kenji Car Penguin at a rest stop along the highway.

Photobucket Photobucket
Mt. Fuji in the morning

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
More Fuji-san! Except for that last one; Kenji’s blocking it!

Photobucket
Portrait of Kenji Car Penguin

Photobucket
Another day, another rest stop!

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
An Azaela festival at a nice hotel we decided to stop at a view. So pretty!

Photobucket Photobucket

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
More Azaela, a red umbrella, and Kenji!

On the road the next morning were some gorgeous views of Mt. Fuji. We stopped to take pictures, then stopped again at an Azaela Festival on the way. We finally hit the mountains of Hakone and spend a nice hour taking a leisurely drive through the scenery. We got hungry just as we arrived, so we stopped at a neat looking shrine and got some mochi for lunch, then took a look around!

Photobucket Photobucket
Kinako and Nori mochi, mine and Kenji’s favorites respectively!

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Views of the shrine

Photobucket
Fierce lion standing guard!

Photobucket
Old tree

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Top of the hill

Photobucket
Heading down to the lake

Photobucket
The REAL highlight of the trip!

Photobucket Photobucket
Pirate ship?!? And Kenji!

Photobucket
The lake before leaving

Hakone is a nice place close enough to Tokyo for a great day trip, but far enough away for a bit of nature. It is pretty famous for onsen and the like, but we didn’t stay long enough for that. We took our time heading back and got home in time for a little cleaning and relaxing. It wasn’t a super exiting trip, but it was nice to get somewhere new, even if we were still sore from Okinawa!

At this point in time too, I’d noticed the weird black mark on my lens, so I took the camera back to Yamada Denki, where I bought it, for them to fix. I got my camera back just in time for Mary’s visit at the end of the month, luckily, but there wasn’t much going on until then anyway!

