Tags

, , ,

The weekend following the funeral, Kenji’s parents came to Gunma for a brief visit. We were looking for something to do for the one full day they would be here, and I suggested Haruna since the snow had been good. I thought it would be really beautiful in winter, and I was right!

We got up and went to brunch at Cocos, then headed for Haruna. It was slow going once we hit icy roads, but luckily Kenji has snow tires so it was no problem.

Photobucket Photobucket
We parked in a snow-covered lot and headed up

Photobucket Photobucket
The gate and what looks like a snow storm through it! It was a beautiful day, but the wind would make it snow sometimes!

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
The walk up to the shrine was icy too, so we took our time and were careful. I have almost the exact same view of the middle picture in summer!

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
I really like the middle picture… the last was blurry because snow got on my lense…

Photobucket Photobucket
The frozen waterfall and a snow covered post

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
I couldn’t decide which of the first two I liked better…

Photobucket
Its a smoking room! I’m pretty sure I posted this exact picture for the last Haruna trip, but it still made me laugh!

Photobucket
Frozen solid

After that we traveled down to the lake for some pictures and a snack:

Photobucket Photobucket
Lake Haruna frozen solid…

Photobucket
Well, mostly!

Photobucket Photobucket
My amazake… the yellow stuff is ginger! It made it smell a little weird, but tasted awesome with that extra kick the ginger gives!

