Tags

, , , ,

 photo DSC_2669.jpg

So as a 5th year JET, technically even if I don’t leave Japan and keep my same job with the BOE, I’m technically not a JET anymore after this year. JET gives a big conference every year for “returning” JETs, which I thought would be a good experience since I am technically “leaving”. It lasts 3 days, and is held in Yokohama. Two years ago, Kenji attended, so we went to Yokohama for the weekend, then I went back to Gunma while he stayed on. This year was the same except we switched places.

We didn’t do terribly much in Yokohama together… some shopping, walking around, eating foods we can’t normally get, etc. But we DID go see the Ramen Museum, which was fun! Kenji left on Sunday after lunch in order to go visit his grandmother before heading home, while I walked around Yokohama taking pictures.

The conference started on Monday, and I didn’t take any pictures at all… was really too busy for it honestly. I returned on Wednesday after a little time in Tokyo. Although I’m not planning on returning to the US quite yet, the conference was nevertheless pretty helpful, so I’m glad I had the chance to go!

 photo DSC_2614.jpg
First order of business upon arrival in Yokohama: American-style food at TGIF!!

 photo DSC_2615.jpg  photo DSC_2616.jpg
And I got a kitty sweatshirt courtesy of Kenji! yay!

 photo DSC_2619.jpg  photo DSC_2620.jpg  photo DSC_2655.jpg
Typical Yokohama views

 photo DSC_2666.jpg  photo DSC_2659.jpg  photo DSC_2672.jpg
Random

 photo DSC_2624.jpg  photo DSC_2627.jpg  photo DSC_2628.jpg
The cup ramen museum was pretty cool… it had things like collections of different cup ramen designs and flavors from the very first

 photo DSC_2631.jpg  photo DSC_2634.jpg
And the story of how the guy invented them and marketed them and became successful, complete with the usual cute drawings

 photo DSC_2637.jpg  photo DSC_2639.jpg
And famous people who ate cup ramen, or visited the museum, or something like that… I dunno, I was pretty hungry at this point!

 photo DSC_2640.jpg
You could even make your own package design or even make the noodles themselves, but we skipped that in favor of eating instead

 photo DSC_2645.jpg
“World Bazaar” featuring noodle dishes from around the world!

 photo DSC_2651.jpg  photo DSC_2652.jpg  photo DSC_2653.jpg
They were good, and the small portions and cheap price allowed you to try a bunch of different ones!

 photo DSC_2654.jpg
Hi

 photo DSC_2684.jpg
Once Kenji left, I wandered off on my own, walking by the water with no real goal in mind…

 photo DSC_2694.jpg  photo DSC_2698.jpg
I had fun taking random pictures of things…

 photo DSC_2701.jpg  photo DSC_2706.jpg  photo DSC_2738.jpg  photo DSC_2753.jpg
And watching the birds…

 photo DSC_2763.jpg  photo DSC_2770.jpg
And more pictures, until I came to a park…

 photo DSC_2776.jpg
With a weird fish-fountain that looked like it wanted to eat me…

 photo DSC_2783.jpg  photo DSC_2785.jpg
Which led me to a Tower and a doll museum…

 photo DSC_2796.jpg  photo DSC_2803.jpg  photo DSC_2810.jpg
Until it led me to Chinatown…

 photo DSC_2799.jpg
Where a panda tried to eat me.

 photo DSC_2820.jpg
But don’t worry, I managed to escape back to the tiniest room in existence to lounge around by myself until the conference started. It was actually pretty nice.

 photo IMG_0302.jpg  photo IMG_0309.jpg  photo IMG_0310.jpg  photo IMG_0320.jpg
These are just random pictures that don’t really fit anywhere above.