Tags

, , , ,

 photo DSC_0327.jpg

The weekend after Myogi we went to Tokyo on the 19th to see a Koto Concert. I’ve been taking koto (Japanese 13-stringed harp) lessons for about 2 years, and this is the first time I’ve been able to go see my koto teacher perform. She performed one song at a Miyashita Shin concert, a famous koto player who has written a lot of songs (some that I’ve even learned before, though I didn’t know it). I got to meet him briefly. There was a slight mix-up with seats, and they didn’t have enough, but luckily we were able to sit in time to watch my teacher perform. It was a good learning experience, and nice to see what professional koto players look like! I’ve definitely changed my technique a little after watching them!

 photo DSC_0323.jpg  photo DSC_0326.jpg
Starting off with the Nikon store in Shinjuku

 photo DSC_0328.jpg
We came a bit too early to get seated, so we decided to walk around Yotsuya while we waited

 photo DSC_0330.jpg
Yotsuya area

 photo DSC_0331.jpg  photo DSC_0338.jpg
A temple in the area so I could buy a new shuuin book, since I used up all my last one

 photo DSC_0339.jpg
I like the white and green detail, this isn’t a common color scheme

 photo DSC_0342.jpg
The main building

 photo DSC_0349.jpg
At the gate

 photo DSC_0344.jpg
Walking back to the koto place

 photo DSC_0346.jpg
Koto concert venue

 photo DSC_0352.jpg  photo DSC_0353.jpg
Back to Shinjuku for dinner

 photo DSC_0358.jpg
And Krispy Creme donuts! The ones in the middle were dark chocolate orange. SO. GOOD.

